We turned our clocks forward Saturday before bedtime for Daylight Savings Time (DST), which left us with one hour less of sleep on Sunday. Most of us dragged ourselves around the final day of the weekend. A lot of us also complained about the time change on social media, including politicians.

President Donald Trump voiced his support for making DST permanent, but to do that involves Congress.

From Fox News:

The law was first established during World War I as “a way of conserving fuel needed for war industries and of extending the working day,” according to the Library of Congress. But it was only temporary – the law was repealed as soon as the war was over.

But the issue of daylight saving emerged again during World War II. On Jan. 20, 1942, Congress re-established daylight saving time.

More than 20 years later, in 1966, former President Lyndon B. Johnson signed into law the Uniform Time Act, declaring daylight saving time a policy of the U.S. and establishing uniform start and end times within standard time zones. The policy is regulated by the Department of Transportation.

But not all states participate. Hawaii, most of Arizona and several U.S. territories—including American Samoa, Guam, Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands—do not observe daylight saving time.

Republican Florida Sen. Marco Rubio introduced legislation, co-sponsored by colleague Republican Florida Sen. Rick Scott, last week to end the time changes. Scott signed similar legislation in Florida when he served as governor, but it “cannot go into effect until Washington passes a measure allowing it.”

Florida Republican Reps. Vern Buchanan and Greg Staube filed a companion bill in the House.


Donations tax deductible
to the full extent allowed by law.