So where does last night’s debate leave us? I’d say stage 4, although not all have made it that far:

Denial √

In this stage, the world becomes meaningless and overwhelming. Life makes no sense. We are in a state of shock and denial. We go numb.

Anger √

Be willing to feel your anger, even though it may seem endless. The more you truly feel it, the more it will begin to dissipate and the more you will heal.

Bargaining √

We become lost in a maze of “If only…” or “What if…” statements.


Empty feelings present themselves, and grief enters our lives on a deeper level, deeper than we ever imagined. This depressive stage feels as though it will last forever.


We will never like this reality or make it OK, but eventually we accept it. We learn to live with it. It is the new norm with which we must learn to live.

Via @PunditReview, the Tweet of the Day:


Donations tax deductible
to the full extent allowed by law.