Most Read
Image 01 Image 02 Image 03

West Virginia Wesleyan College to Charge Students $750 Fee if They’re Unvaccinated

West Virginia Wesleyan College to Charge Students $750 Fee if They’re Unvaccinated

“if they are unable to show proof of at least one dose of a Wuhan coronavirus vaccine before September 7”

What is the money for, exactly? It looks like the school is just trying to profit off the pandemic.

Townhall reports:

College Punishes the Unvaccinated, But Not By Denying Them Admission or Subjecting Them to Daily Testing

As colleges and universities across the country prepare to welcome students back to campus, administrators are working to prevent outbreaks of the Wuhan coronavirus through a range of means. One college in Buckhannon, West Virginia, has come up with a plan to charge students who can’t prove they’ve been vaccinated before arriving on campus, rather than requiring vaccination to attend fall classes in-person.

According to a COVID-19 update posted to the West Virginia Wesleyan College website, students will be “charged a non-refundable $750 Covid fee for the Fall 2021 semester” if they are unable to show proof of at least one dose of a Wuhan coronavirus vaccine before September 7.

After being charged the COVID fee, students “will be required to undergo weekly surveillance testing” conducted by school officials, the cost of which “will be covered by the Covid Fee charged to all unvaccinated students.”

Unvaccinated students “will be subject to student judicial action if they do not adhere to the ‘Arrival on Campus’ policies regarding wearing masks, COVID-19 testing, social distancing, etc.” This guidance requires unvaccinated students, faculty, and staff to “wear a mask indoors at all times and maintain a social distance, including in classrooms, dining hall, residence halls, wellness center, and at all indoor venues on campus.”

DONATE

Donations tax deductible
to the full extent allowed by law.

Comments

nordic_prince | August 14, 2021 at 9:54 am

Money grab. That’s all this is.

Same thing with employers who want to gouge workers $50+ a month if they refuse the experimental poison shot.

The Friendly Grizzly | August 14, 2021 at 12:23 pm

“Wesleyan”…. Armenian?

My guess is that the fee is to pay for weekly testing, which is required by most colleges for those that are unvaccinated even for religious/medical exemptions.

It’s also not just the cost of the test itself but the test administrators and other incidentals involved. It’s about 14 weeks of testing so that probably is about right.

    nordic_prince in reply to healthguyfsu. | August 14, 2021 at 7:16 pm

    There is ZERO reason to test asymptomatic (i.e. HEALTHY) people. Asymptomatic (aka HEALTHY) people cannot infect others.

And if they have exemptions?
What then?

How does this not violate HIPAA? What are they going to do if you say, “It’s none of your business.”

Joey Williams | August 15, 2021 at 5:38 pm

The really interesting part is towards the bottom. If you are living on-campus and come down with COVID or are even exposed to someone with COVID (careful who stands near you!), you have to get off campus within 48 hours – during which you’ll be in some kind of quarantine. If you can’t find someplace else to live (and how many hotels, AirBnB, etc. are about to let you in as a COVID risk) they’ll make arrangements for you to be put into a gulag be quarantined somewhere on campus – perhaps a convenient closet, or a bathroom stall. And they’ll charge you $250 for that “privilege”…

Font Resize
Contrast Mode
Send this to a friend