The law will allow concealed carry across state lines.
Former Democratic Arizona Rep. Gabby Giffords’ gun control group has purchased ads to target eight GOP House members before the chamber votes on a bill that allows concealed carry across state lines. From Politico:
Digital ads will also go out against Reps. Steve Knight (R-Calif.), Ed Royce (R-Calif.), Mimi Walters (R-Calif.), Mike Coffman (R-Colo.), Lee Zeldin (R-N.Y.) and Barbara Comstock (R-Va.). All of these are at the top of Democrats’ 2018 pick-up hopes. There will be a radio ad focused on the three Southern California members.
“The ads call on voters to speak up about this dangerous bill and call on their leaders put the safety of communities before the interests of the gun industry,” said Peter Ambler, executive director of Giffords, the name of the political group founded by the former Arizona congresswoman and her husband, Captain Mark Kelly.
The gun lobby is trying to make it easier for dangerous and untrained people to carry hidden, loaded guns. Call your member of Congress now and tell them to stand up to the gun lobby: (202) 224-3121 #StopCCR pic.twitter.com/0H3QR3WTiB
— Giffords (@GiffordsCourage) December 4, 2017
— Giffords (@GiffordsCourage) December 4, 2017
Politico reported the narration in one video:
“In the wake of our country’s worst mass shooting, Congress came up with its most dangerous idea yet: nearly anyone with a hidden loaded gun would be allowed into your community. No background check? No training? No questions asked,” a female narrator says, over images of police officers, gun shells dropping to the ground and guns stuck into the back of pants. “Will Jason Lewis side with law enforcement, or the gun lobby?”
No background check? Well, in order for someone to legally purchase a gun they have to go through a background check.
No training? I guess the group doesn’t realize that you have to go through extensive training in order to receive that concealed carry license.
Let’s take a look at those states the group is targeting:
The attorney general’s website provides information about those who can purchase guns in the state:
Generally, all firearms purchases and transfers, including private party transactions and sales at gun shows, must be made through a California licensed dealer under the Dealer’s Record of Sale (DROS) process. California law imposes a 10-day waiting period before a firearm can be released to a purchaser or transferee. A person must be at least 18 years of age to purchase a rifle or shotgun. To purchase a handgun, a person must be at least 21 years of age. As part of the DROS process, the purchaser must present “clear evidence of identity and age” which is defined as a valid, non-expired California Driver’s License or Identification Card issued by the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). A military identification accompanied by permanent duty station orders indicating a posting in California is also acceptable.
If the purchaser is not a U.S. Citizen, then he or she is required to demonstrate that he or she is legally within the United States by providing the firearms dealer with documentation containing his/her Alien Registration Number or I-94 Number.
Purchasers of handguns must provide proof of California residency, such as a utility bill, residential lease, property deed, or government-issued identification (other than a drivers license or other DMV-issued identification), and either (1) possess a Handgun Safety Certificate (HSC) plus successfully complete a safety demonstration with their recently purchased handgun or (2) qualify for an HSC exemption.
In order to get a concealed carry license in California, you HAVE to go through the county sheriff’s office. A person CANNOT conceal carry unless they have this license issued “by a California county sheriff to residents of the county, or the chief of police to residents of the city.”
In Colorado, the state uses InStaCheck (emphasis mine):
The InstaCheck Unit is responsible for ensuring that proper procedures, along with state and federal guidelines are adhered to and followed by all citizens wishing to purchase a firearm. The InstaCheck Unit performs comprehensive background investigations into each and every firearm purchase, as well as reviews all concealed weapon permit applications, helping to promote gun safety within the State of Colorado. For additional information about the services provided by InstaCheck please visit our “Available Services” page. Thank you for visiting CBI InstaCheck.
Just like in California, you have to go through the local sheriff’s department in order to obtain a concealed carry permit.
Also, in Colorado, you have to go through a background check EVERY TIME you purchase a new firearm.
In Minnesota, like the other two states, a background check is required for a gun purchase. There is also a waiting period (emphasis mine):
Fill out a Minnesota Uniform Firearm Application/Receipt Permit to Purchase/Transfer. Submit the application to your local police chief, or if your municipality does not have a police department, to your county’s sheriff. The law enforcement agency will conduct a series of background-related checks to assure you meet eligibility requirements established in state law.
Once those checks are complete, a one-year permit to purchase a handgun in Minnesota will be issued. If you are applying for a permit to transfer the law enforcement agency must notify you of its status within seven days of receipt.
If you want to make a one-time purchase of a handgun from a dealer and you do not have a permit to purchase, you may apply directly at the gun shop where you will purchase the handgun. The gun shop will require you to complete a consent form that allows them to conduct a name and date-of-birth background check to determine your eligibility to purchase a gun. However, some businesses may choose to follow other business practices. The gun shops are entitled to charge a fee for this service.
Minnesota requires a person to go through the sheriff’s office to get a concealed carry permit. In order to receive this permit, you have to provide proof you received training from a certified instructor.
In New Jersey, you need a permit to even purchase a firearm:
You must apply at your local police department. If you do not have a local police department or you are an out of state resident, you must apply at the nearest New Jersey State Police station (excluding toll roads, stations on the New Jersey Turnpike, Garden State Parkway, and Atlantic City Expressway).
It can take 30 days to 6 months before this even comes in, but yes it includes a background check.
The sheriff’s office must also approve your request for a concealed carry.
New York has the most strict handgun laws in the entire nation. The entire state requires a permit to purchase a gun, register a a handgun, owner must have a license, and a license to carry. For shotguns and rifles, these are invalid EXCEPT in New York city.
To further elaborate the state’s rigorous handgun laws ,one must have an understanding of how meticulous the procedures are. The application for a handgun license begins at the local police department where a background check and fingerprinting will be administered. Once approved, the application will then get passed to the New York State Police Department where personal references are mandatory for consideration. These references will include family members and close friends who can attest to the applicant’s good moral character. New York handgun laws are filled with legislative red tape to delay such procedures; a license will be awarded within 4-6 months of the application’s filing date.
According to New York’s handgun laws, a license is also necessary to possess a handgun in one’s home or place of business. Applications are made to the licensing officer of the city or county where the applicant resides or works. Unlike most licenses, the right to possess is completely up to the discretion of the licensing officer. Aliens who are not of proper citizenship can receive a license to possess if such basic requirements are met: Applicant must be of good moral character, at least 21 years of age, clean criminal record, and no history or evidence of mental illness or addiction to drugs/alcohol.
After the information is gathered, it is sent to the FBI for a full background check. The licensing officer can request further documentation, but the entire process will take 6 months in total. It is considered unlawful for any individual to carry, possess, or transport a handgun without a valid New York driver’s license.
Donations tax deductible
to the full extent allowed by law.